Personal

Moving away wasn’t that easy after all

Yes, I hate to admit it, but I made the wrong choice. I should have trusted myself and moved to York to study Psychology. Right now I am quite miserable, and I have close to none motivation to do anything with my course. I just feel that this isn’t for me at all, and certainly not for my personality and how I want to live my life. It’s just too serious, and too much pressure, and I am noticing already now after just a month. How can I then stand this for another five years? It is just not going to happen. If it does, I will at least have five or six breakdowns getting there. Five or six breakdowns each semester that is. Also Eirin is going home for a month, so what am I expected to do then?

I have been thinking a lot recently about taking up my place at the University of York, since I postponed it until 2015. I didn’t move there last year because I wanted to study Law, or at least so I told myself. I think that I was just not ready to move that far, because I am more attached to my homeplace than what I like to admit. I have hated my hometown with a passion for 19 years, and know I miss it so much. I miss my “old life” working at the nursing home and hanging with Malin until she got sick of me.
The other reason is that I was quite worried that I wouldn’t get into a postgraduate degree, which I need to work in the field of Psychology. I have realized now that I am at least never going to get a postgraduate degree if I never start the undergraduate one. And I know that it is hard to get in, but someone does it, so why not me? I know that I have to work hard to get where I want, and that is exactly also what I am planning to do. I have also noticed that people start to study when they are a lot older than what I am now, and also a lot older than what I will be when I finish my bachelor degree. If I see that it will not work out at all, I can always become a nurse, right? That is my fail-save plan. And I can always be a psychiatric nurse.

So now you know my thoughts of life. Or at least thoughts of careers in my life. I won’t promise anything too soon, but I really, really hope that I just trust myself and move to England next year. Even though it is far, and even if it is hard to get in to a postgraduate degree.

4 thoughts on “Moving away wasn’t that easy after all

  1. Å herregud, kjenner meg så igjen i den tegneseriestripen der!!

    … og alt det andre du skriver forøvrig. Jeg tar kun psykologifag dette semesteret og det meste er veldig interessant(filosofidelen, biologidelen og metodedelen – not so much). Men det er veldig bredt pensum og høye krav så det krever disiplin og mange lange kvelder. Noen ganger virker det som mine medstudenter(som sikter mot profesjonsstudiet, noe jeg ikke gjør) har kronisk høye skuldre. Men det er ikke så rart når man må ha A på alle emner for å i det hele ha en kjangse til å komme inn… Heldigvis skal denne ordningen gjøres om i 2016 slik at man søker direkte fra vidergående til profesjonsstudie på Universitetet i Bergen 🙂

    1. Ja, jeg har en venninne som går der!!! Hadde aldri klart det presset. Vet at det er risky å ta studiet i utlandet med tanke på godkjenning og slikt, men jeg har ikkje sjangs til å komme inn i Norge slik snittet er nå. Forhåpentligvis blir det kanskje bedre når man kan søke seg direkte på profesjon i Bergen også 😀
      Men gleder meg uansett til å gjøre det jeg ønsker. Håper bare at jeg klarer å manne meg opp til å flytte denne gangen…..

      1. Huff, ja, de har de ikke greit… Når opptaksordningen blir lagt om går forhåpentligvis snittet litt ned, særlig på førstegangskvoten, så det er jo veldig bra for alle som kunne tenke seg å studere psykologi som går på vidergående nå 🙂

        Jeg ville ikke brukt energien min på å bekymre meg for godkjenning enda. Det er så langt frem i tid uansett. For alt du vet kan det jo være at du har endret mening om hva du vil jobbe som innen den tid. Ikke alle er ment til å bli kliniske psykologer heller, det kan jo for eksempel være interesant å jobbe med tilrettelegging innen skole eller en bedrift også? Eller å jobbe med profilering i politiet – det virker spennende det!!

        Om du finner emnet interessant tror jeg flyttingen kommer til å gå bedre enn hva det gjorde denne gangen. Det blir en form for indre motivasjon som gjør det hele verdt det. Men for all del, jeg savner Stord(hjembyen) hver eneste uke likevel. Stord er min favorittplass på jord <3<3

Leave a comment